Dr. A.K. Mohanty takes over as Director BARC

  • Dr. A.K. Mohanty, distinguished Scientist and Director, physics group of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) and Director, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata today took over as Director, BARC from Shri K.N. Vyas, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Atomic Energy.
  • Dr. Mohanty graduated from the 26thbatch of the BARC Training School and joined Nuclear Physics Division of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in 1983.  During the past 36 years, Dr. Mohanty has worked in several areas of nuclear physics covering collision energy from sub-Coulomb barrier to relativistic regime.
  • Dr. Mohanty is the recipient of Young Scientists Award of Indian Physical Society (1988), Young Physicist Award by Indian National Science Academy (1991) and Department of Atomic EnergyHomi Bhabha Science & Technology Award (2001).

Source:Press Information Bureau

P C Mody Appointed As chairmain of CBDT

 Image courtesy:Taxscan   

         IRS officer Pramod Chandra Mody on Friday took over as the new chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), the policy making body of the Income Tax Department.
Mody, a 1982-batch Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax cadre) officer, has been appointed in place of Sushil Chandra, who was on Thursday named as Election Commissioner ahead of the Lok Sabha polls due this summer.
The officer, who has worked in various capacities in the I-T Department, has been working as the Member (Administration) in the CBDT.
The CBDT is headed by a chairman and can have a maximum of six members. After the latest appointment, there is a vacancy of two more members in the board.


Sushil Chandra appointed as New election commissioner

Sushil Chandra, the chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes or CBDT, has been appointed as the new Election Commissioner. The appointment came ahead of this year’s general elections, which is due by May.

The three-member Commission — which has been one member short since December. With his appointment, the Commission now has Sunil Arora as the Chief Election Commissioner and Ashok Lavasa and Mr Chandra as the two commissioners.

Image courtesy:Economic times

Mr Chandra, an IIT graduate and a 1980 batch officer of the Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax cadre), has recently retired from the CBDT.
The Commission is expected to announce the date and the schedule for the elections by the end of this month. Election Commissioners are appointed for a term of six years, or till the age of 65 – whichever is earlier.